Delta Ports Complex, Delta State

The ports that are accessible from Delta state forms the Delta Ports Complex of the Nigerian Ports Authority. These ports include:

  • Warri Port
  • Burutu Port
  • Sapele Port
  • Escravos Terminal
  • Focados Terminal
  • Pennignton Terminal

Delta Ports equally serves as a shorter distance for the haulage of cargoes from catchment states of Anambra, Imo, Enugu, Delta, Edo, kogi, ondo, Benue, when compared with other operational ports. The private jetties located in the ports are Delta Steel Complex (DSC), McDermott Inc., Nigeria Dredging and Marine, Shell Jetty Ogun, Chevron Nig. Ltd., Western Geophysical Nig.Ltd., Texaco Overseas Nig. Ltd., United Geophysical Nig. Ltd. and (NBTC) Niger Benue Transport Company Ltd.

Rivers Port Complex, Rivers State

The Rivers Port Complex comprises of the following:

  • Port Harcourt Port
  • Okrika Refined Petroleum oil Jetty
  • Haastrup/Eagle Bulk Cement Jetty
  • Kidney Island Jetty
  • Ibeto Jetty
  • Macobar Jetty
  • Bitumen Jetty

Port Harcourt Port has been concessioned to 2 private terminal operators namely: Messrs Ports and Terminal Operators Limited (PTOL) and BUA Ports and Terminal Limited. Thus by implications the Nigerian Ports Authority is no longer in charge of cargo handling (both for import and export).

Onne Port Complex, Rivers State

Onne Port Complex is situated along Bonny Estuary on Ogu Creek which is about 25 kilometres south of Port Harcourt. There are two major Terminal facilities at Onne Port Complex. These are the Federal Ocean Terminal (FOT) and the Federal Lighter Terminal (FLT). Additionally, the jurisdiction of the Port covers operations at NLNG Jetty at Bonny, NAFCON (Now NOTORE ) Jetty and midstream discharge at Buoy 9.

Free Zone Status

The Port is designed as an oil and gas Free Zone are by Federal Government Decree No. 8 of 1986. The Port is a hub for oil and gas operations and logistics centre in the West and Central Africa region. Over 16 offshore platforms are serviced on regular basis. There are averagely 55 service boat movements on weekly basis; and payment of compulsory pilotage dues is a major revenue earner for the port. All major oil and gas prospecting companies in the country have their presence in Onne Port Complex.

Currently about 111 companies are licensed to operate at the Zone. Companies like Tenaries, Socotherm, Delta Environmental Services and West Atlantic Shipyard (WAS) have added significant value to the economy of the country through their activities in pipe coating, pipe vendoring, waste treatment, boat building etc.

Calabar Port Complex, Cross Rivers State

The development, modernization and expansion of the Calabar Port was embarked upon under the 3rd National Development plan 1975 –1980 in order to make the Port facilities cope with the ever increasing demand of our economy. The new Port Complex was commissioned on 9th June, 1979 and consists of the following major operational areas:-

The Calabar Port has a total land area of 38 hectares with 2 Terminals with 2 and 4 berths respectively. The Terminals has been concessioned to Messrs Intels Nigeria Ltd and Messrs ECM Terminal Ltd.

Top of FormBottom of FormTop of FormBottom of Form


There are 6 airports in the Niger Delta region. They include:

  • Edo state                         :Benin Airport
  • Cross Rivers                    :Margaret Ekpo International Airport
  • Akwa Ibom                       :Uyo Airport
  • Rivers                              :Port Harcourt International  Airport
  • Delta State                      :Asaba Airport, Asaba 

                                               :Osubi Airport, Warri


Nigeria has 3 main crude oil refineries located in Kaduna, Kaduna state; Port Harcourt in Rivers state and Warri in Delta state, with the latter two located in the Niger Delta region.

PORT HARCOURT REFINERY (Port Harcourt Refining Company Limited: PHRC)

The Port Harcourt refinery which began operation in 1965 is located at Alesa-Eleme, some 25 kilometres east of the capital city and occupies an area of about 900 hectares.

The Port Harcourt Refining Company Limited (PHRC) is one of the ten subsidiary companies owned by the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC). The refining complex is comprised of two refineries. The combined total refining capacity of the complex is 210,000 BPSD. The refinery produces the following products:- Liquified Petroleum Gas (LPG), Premium Motor Spirit (PMS), Kerosene (aviation and domestic), Automotive Gas Oil (AGO - diesel), Low Pour Fuel Oil (LPFO) and High Pour Fuel Oil (HPFO). In addition, PHRC produces UNLEADED gasoline that meets international standard.

WARRI REFINERY (Warri Refinery Petrochemical Company Limited: WRPC)

The Warri refinery is the first Nigerian government wholly owned refinery and was commissioned in 1978 with a distillation capacity of 6.3 million mt/yr (125,000 bpd). It is managed jointly with a petrochemicals plant built in 1986 to produce 35,000 mt/yr of polypropylene and 18,000 mt/yr of carbon black.

It was built to process 100,000 barrels of crude oil per day but was later de-bottlenecked to process 125,000 barrels per day in 1987. It was essentially built to add value to some of the refinery by-products such as propylene rich stock and decant oil.

Warri Refining and Petrochemical Company (WRPC) was incorporated as a limited liability company on the 3rd of November 1988 after the merger of the then Warri Refinery and the Ekpan Petrochemical Plants. Its aim include to efficiently and profitably process crude oil into petroleum products, manufacture and market petrochemical products through effective resource utilization, while Exploring new business opportunities.  



Zenith Bank   Access Bank   GTBank   First Bank   Access Bank   GTBank   GTBank


        Sahara Energy      Keystone Bank      NDDC        EcoBank        FCMB        SterlingBank